Erin

IMG_0003

I spent the night here and there, meeting up with different friends. My third destination of the night was to see a show at Space. On my walk over I realized that my keys were no longer on me. Shit. Well… whatever. I’m getting used to it. I lose things every day. I’ve trained myself not to freak out in these situations. I’d go to SPACE, have a couple more beers, surely see someone I knew who would surely let me sleep at their place.

There’s Chelsea. She hates me. I don’t like her so much myself. That’s a no go.

There’s Clint, who leases the building my store is in. He’d have keys to my store. I could just sleep in there for the night. He didn’t have them on him though.

There’s Genevieve and Laurel. Maybe… no. I think Genevieve hates me too. I’m not quite sure. And Laurel. When I say hi to Laurel, after Genevieve, she says something with a serious frown. I smile and nod, hoping to diffuse the weird tension. I lean into Genevieve, “I don’t know what she said, she looks mad so I just ignored her.”

“I said – now you’re finally acknowledging me.”

“I was getting to it. I was getting to it.” I say. It feels kind of weird. I leave to get a beer.

There’s Catlin and Jesse. I don’t know them well enough to ask if I can sleep at their place.

There’s Vikki and Erin! I’m pretty sure Vikki hates me, but thank God… Erin! My neighbour and one of my closest friends. She’s got my back. “Oh sure! You can crash on my couch. It’s really comfy. I sleep on it all the time.”

We watch the show.

We walk back towards our hood.

We buy popcorn and peanut butter m & m’s at the Husky station.

We smoke a joint and set up her lap top for a viewing of Club Paradise. I’ve never even heard of it.

“My brother used to copy VHS tapes back in the day. This is one we had,” she explained.

“That’s funny. What did we have? Roger Rabbit and the Three Amigos.”

Well the movie’s got Robin Williams in it. And Andrea Martin and Eugen Levy.

Five minutes in, Erin says, “I feel like I have to puke.” It wasn’t that long ago that I was feeling that way and had voiced it to Erin. She went on and on about puking to the point that it made me puke. I felt like I should probably relay the sentiments but she was letting me sleep on her couch.

She got up and went to the washroom. When she came back I asked her, “How you doing?”

“The feeling’s passed.”

“Great news,” I said.

She laid down and fell asleep almost instantly. It was 3:00 in the morning. Or maybe it was 4:00 because it was Daylight Savings Time. I don’t know. But I do know that I could not, for the life of me, fall asleep. I watched most of the movie and it was god-awful. I had to close my eyes and face the couch to fall asleep.

When we both woke up at 7:00, because her alarm went off, I told her “That movie sucked.” I think that might have hurt her feelings.

Then she drove me to Original Joe’s where my keys were. The guy inside said, “Looks like you’ve survived without these.” He had a really thick neck. But despite his dumb appearance he was right. Thank you Erin for being one of the few people who don’t hate me yet.

Leave a Reply

