Girl at the Club

club

Sam, Courtney and I were drinking at Red Star, a little pub. Next door is a dance club. I heard it was kind of nice inside. “We should go next door, just for one drink. I just wanna see what it’s like over there.” I suggested. They agreed, despite its reputation for being very popular with a young coke-fueled crowd.

Yeah. I guess it was a younger crowd. Everyone looked pretty fresh. Dressed for the occasion. We were all wearing hoodies, holding our whiskey on the dance-floor. We

were the only ones out there, bobbing up and down, legs spead apart like we made a mess in our diapers. It felt pretty dumb and pretty good. I hadn’t danced in a while.

When my whiskey ran out I went to the bar. The girl beside me looked at me for a couple seconds. I felt compelled to acknowledge her even though she seemed pretty unattractive. “Hi.”

“Hello,” she said. We shook hands. “How are you doing?”

“Oh, pretty good. I’m having a good time. I’ve never been here.”

“Really?”

“No. My friends and I just thought we’d check it out. We were next door.”

“Oh. What’s next door.”

“Red Star.”

“What’s that?”

“You never noticed that bar next door? All the windows you pass by?”

“No.”

“Really? It’s been there forever. You walk right in front of it to get inside here.”

“Hmm,” she shrugged.

“Oh. Well it’s nice. Anyway…”

“But you’re enjoying it here?”

“Yeah. I mean… I feel a little out of place.”

“What do you mean?”

“I feel a little old here, but…”

“Well how old are you?”

“Thirty-three.”

“No!”

“Yeah. I am.” I said nodding sheepishly.

“No! You look like, maybe 25,” she grabbed my arm.

“Ah. Well…Thanks. But I’m 33. What are you?”

“20.”

“20?!” Jesus. Ok.”

“You don’t have to feel bad.”

“Bad? I don’t.”

“I mean, don’t feel ashamed about your age.”

“No. I don’t. I’m perfectly happy. I just said Jesus, cause I didn’t think…”

Courtney came up to me and said something about how Sam was talking to some young lawyer. When she realized she was standing between a young girl and I she apologized. “Oh no. No. Don’t feel sorry,” I said quietly to her.

“Do you want me to leave you two alone,” the twenty-year-old asked.

My first reaction was to say no and then thought better and nodded yes.

Leave a Reply

